Tuesday, 18 January, 2022
HomeSportsBengal sports minister Manoj Tiwary named in state Ranji squad

Bengal sports minister Manoj Tiwary named in state Ranji squad

Former Bengal captain Manoj Tiwary, who can be a minister of Bengal in sports activities and youth affairs within the Mamata Banerjee-led authorities, will gear up for his seventeenth 12 months in firstclass cricket when he was named in Bengal’s 21-member Ranji Trophy squad on Monday.

Tiwary final performed for Bengal of their Ranji ultimate in opposition to Saurashtra in March 2020. He joined TMC forward of the Meeting polls and gained from Shibpur constituency beating BJP’s Rathin Chakraborty.

He missed the Covid-interrupted final season resulting from an harm however he’s again once more within the Bengal facet below Abhimanyu Easwaran.

Positioned in Group B, together with Vidarbha, Rajasthan, Kerala, Haryana and Tripura, Bengal are slated to kick off their marketing campaign in opposition to Tripura in Bengaluru from January 13.

The Bengal Ranji squad (The Press Reporter Picture)

In the meantime, a number of members of the Bengal Ranji squad examined optimistic for Covid and are at the moment isolating, the Cricket Affiliation of Bengal (CAB) knowledgeable.

“Preserving in thoughts the present pandemic state of affairs, the Cricket Affiliation of Bengal had performed RT-PCR Checks of all Bengal cricketers as a security measure,” CAB secretary Snehasish Ganguly mentioned.

He added: “The outcomes have come out and it has been discovered that sure gamers had examined optimistic. The CAB is taking all needed precautions and actions on this regard.”

Bengal are slated to face Prthivi Shaw-led Mumbai in a two-day warmup sport at CC&FC on January 6-7 earlier than leaving for Bengaluru.

Squad: Abhimanyu Easwaran (c), Manoj Tiwary, Sudip Chatterjee, Anustup Majumdar, Abhishek Raman, Sudip Gharami, Abishek Das, Writtick Chatterjee, Ritwik Roy Chowdhury, Abhishek Porel, Shahbaz Ahmed, Sayan Sekhar Mondal, Akash Deep, Ishan Porel, Mukesh Kumar, Kazi Junaid Saifi, Sakir Habib Gandhi, Pradipta Pramanik, Geet Puri, Nilakantha Das and Karan Lal.

(With PTI inputs)

Most Popular

English English हिन्दी हिन्दी ਪੰਜਾਬੀ ਪੰਜਾਬੀ