Wednesday, 27 October, 2021
HomeLatest StoriesCounting Today For Mamata Banerjee's Must-Win By-Election: 10 Points

Counting Today For Mamata Banerjee's Must-Win By-Election: 10 Points

There shall be 21 rounds of counting of votes within the Bhabanipur constituency. (File)

Votes shall be counted as we speak for the by-election held in Bhabanipur, a south Kolkata legislative constituency, that Mamata Banerjee has to win to stay West Bengal Chief Minister, having misplaced the seat she fought in state polls earlier this 12 months.

Here is your 10-point cheatsheet to this huge story:

  1. The Chief Minister has needed to contest the by-poll as a result of, regardless of her personal celebration’s great victory within the meeting polls held this March-April, she couldn’t win from Nandigram. The BJP put up a troublesome combat there by way of its recruit Suvendu Adhikari, a confidante-turned-foe of the Chief Minister.

  2. Whereas the Trinamool Congress has claimed that the celebration chief will win by a margin of over 50,000 votes, the BJP, which fielded 41-year-old greenhorn Priyanka Tibrewal, claimed to have given a “excellent combat”.

  3. The counting of votes will start at eight am as we speak and the preliminary traits are anticipated to trickle down within the first hour itself. There shall be 21 rounds of counting of votes within the Bhabanipur constituency.

  4. The ballot physique has organized for a three-tier safety system, known as in 24 corporations of central forces and have already deployed them on the counting centre.

  5. Voting on Thursday registered over 57 per cent polling, the Election Fee official mentioned, within the constituency the place over three lakh folks had been eligible to vote.

  6. Mamata Banerjee should win the elections to enter the state meeting earlier than the top of her first six months as Chief Minister on this time period.

  7. The bypoll in Bhabanipur was known as following the resignation of Ms Banerjee’s celebration chief Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay, who stepped all the way down to make manner for her.

  8. With the BJP throwing its total would possibly to make sure one other humiliation for the Chief Minister, many believed the competition might not essentially be a cakewalk for her regardless that she lives there – her Kalighat residence is situated within the constituency – and that she had gained the seat twice, in 2011 and 2016.

  9. The BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal can be a long-time resident of the neighbourhood. Though she misplaced the latest Meeting polls and in addition the 2015 municipal polls, the Calcutta Excessive Court docket lawyer has turned excessive profile, being one of many petitioners within the post-poll violence case towards the state authorities.

  10. Apart from Bhabanipur, votes will even be counted in two different constituencies – Murshidabad’s Samserganj and Jangipur seats – that noticed a excessive turnout of 79.92 per cent and 77.63 per cent respectively. The elections had been countermanded in these locations after the deaths of two candidates.

Most Popular

English English हिन्दी हिन्दी ਪੰਜਾਬੀ ਪੰਜਾਬੀ