Friday, 3 December, 2021
HomeIndiaEC announces bypolls to RS seats in Bengal, Kerala on Nov 29

EC announces bypolls to RS seats in Bengal, Kerala on Nov 29

The Election Commision Sunday introduced bypolls to 1 Rajya Sabha seat every in West Bengal and Kerala on November 29.

The bypolls had been necessitated by the resignation of Trinamool Congress’s Arpita Ghosh and Kerala Congress (M) chief Jose K Mani from the Rajya Sabha earlier this yr.

Ghosh had resigned in September. Her time period was to finish in April 2026. Mani had give up in January. His time period would have resulted in July 2024.

The ballot notification will probably be issued on November 9, the ballot panel mentioned in an announcement. The counting of votes, as per follow, will probably be held an hour after voting concludes at 4 pm on November 29.

In the course of the Covid-19 second wave, the EC had determined to place off the Kerala Rajya Sabha bypoll until the scenario improved.

The fee additionally introduced biennial elections to 6 Legislative Council seats in Telangana and three in Andhra Pradesh on November 29.

The Telangana seats fell vacant in June and the Andhra Pradesh seats in Might following the retirement of members.

These seats, too, had been imagined to go to polls within the midst of the second wave, in Might, however had been postpone.

The EC additionally introduced a bypoll to a Legislative Council seat in Maharashtra that fell vacant after the demise of member Sharad Namdeo Ranpise in September. This bypoll, too, will probably be held on November 29.

Most Popular

English English हिन्दी हिन्दी ਪੰਜਾਬੀ ਪੰਜਾਬੀ