Tuesday, 13 April, 2021
Home Latest Stories PV Narasimha Rao's Daughter Defeats BJP Rival In Telangana MLC Polls

PV Narasimha Rao's Daughter Defeats BJP Rival In Telangana MLC Polls

S Vani Devi defeated her nearest BJP rival and sitting MLC N Ramachander Rao (File)


Former Prime Minister P V Narasimha Rao’s daughter S Vani Devi, who was the ruling TRS candidate, on Saturday received the election to Telangana Legislative Council from the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad Graduates’ constituency.

Vani Devi defeated her nearest BJP rival and sitting MLC N Ramachander Rao.

She acquired the certificates of election from the Returning Officer on Saturday night time, official sources stated.

Elections have been held to the Council from Mahabubnagar-Ranagreddy-Hyderabad and Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda Graduates’ constituencies on March 14.

Within the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda seat, TRS nominee and sitting MLC Palla Rajeshwar Reddy continued his lead because the protracted technique of counting of votes was nonetheless underway.

Counting of votes started on Wednesday and it continued until Saturday as jumbo-sized poll papers have been used within the ballot in view of the big variety of candidates and in addition as a result of the voters exercised their franchise in a preferential technique.

The entire variety of voters within the two constituencies is over 10 lakh.

As many as 93 candidates have been within the fray from Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad constituency, whereas 71 nominees contested from the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituency.

Whereas the Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad seat witnessed 67.26 per cent of polling, the voter turnout was 76.41 per cent within the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituency.

Having suffered setbacks within the Dubbak meeting constituency bypoll and Hyderabad civic polls late final yr, the TRS made a decided bid to win the 2 seats, whereas the BJP sought to proceed the momentum following its spectacular efficiency within the Hyderabad civic polls.

The Mahabubnagar-Rangareddy-Hyderabad seat witnessed a detailed contest as G Chinna Reddy of Congress, TDP’s Telangana unit president L Ramana and former MLC Ok Nageshwar, a journalism professor and distinguished analyst, have been additionally contesting.

Most Popular

Ayushmann Khurrana on his next with Abhishek Kapoor: It is a beautiful, progressive love story

By: Leisure Desk | New Delhi | Revealed: July 29, 2020 8:43:23 am Ayushmann Khurrana and Abhishek Kapoor movie will launch subsequent 12...

Poll Body Seeks Detailed Report On Kamal Nath's "Item" Remark

Kamal Nath referred to lady minister as an "merchandise", sparking an argument. (File)New Delhi: The Election Fee of India (ECI) has sought an in...

Who is Dhanashree Verma?

By: Leisure Desk | New Delhi | Revealed: August 8, 2020 6:42:23 pm Dhanashree Verma is a YouTuber and dancer by career. (Picture:...
English English हिन्दी हिन्दी ਪੰਜਾਬੀ ਪੰਜਾਬੀ