Friday, 22 October, 2021
HomeLatest StoriesShiv Sena Wins 5 Seats, NCP, BJP 4 Each In Maharashtra Local...

Shiv Sena Wins 5 Seats, NCP, BJP 4 Each In Maharashtra Local Body Polls

The Shiv Sena gained 5 seats on Wednesday in Palghar Zilla Parishad (ZP) by-elections (File)


The Shiv Sena gained 5 seats on Wednesday, whereas the NCP and the BJP obtained 4 every in by-elections to 15 vacant seats of the Palghar Zilla Parishad (ZP), an official stated.

The Congress drew a clean, whereas the CPI(M) gained one seat and an Unbiased was additionally elected to the ZP in bypolls held on Tuesday, stated Palghar district collector and election officer Manick Gursal stated.

In bypolls held for 14 vacant seats of Panchayat Samitis falling below the jurisdiction of Palghar ZP, the Shiv Sena bagged 5 seats, whereas the BJP and the Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi (BVA) obtained three every, he stated.

The NCP obtained two seats and one seat went to the MNS, Mr Gursal stated.

The Congress did not win any seat within the Panchayat Samiti bypolls, too.

Voting to fill vacant seats within the ZP (15) and Panchayat Samitis (14) coming below it was held on Tuesday and counting was taken up on Wednesday.

These seats, earlier reserved for OBC candidates, fell vacant following a Supreme Courtroom ruling.

The highest courtroom in March this yr quashed quota for the Different Backward Courses (OBCs) in native our bodies in Maharashtra after observing that the entire reservation mustn’t exceed 50 per cent.

Half a dozen ZPs – Dhule, Nandurbar, Akola, Washim, Nagpur, Palghar – and 38 Panchayat Samitis coming below them have been affected by the SC ruling.

A voter turnout of almost 63 per cent was recorded in by-elections for 84 ZP seats and 141 seats of Panchayat Samitis throughout 6 districts.

Most Popular

English English हिन्दी हिन्दी ਪੰਜਾਬੀ ਪੰਜਾਬੀ