Monday, 25 October, 2021
HomeSportsSuper IPL Sunday: RCB eye playoffs berth vs PBKS, SRH aim to...

Super IPL Sunday: RCB eye playoffs berth vs PBKS, SRH aim to dent KKR’s prospects

Royal Challengers Bangalore will look to inch nearer to securing a playoff berth once they conflict with Punjab Kings of their Indian Premier League match in Sharjah on Sunday. Eyeing their first IPL title triumph, RCB are at present positioned third within the pecking order with seven wins and 4 defeats for a complete of 14 factors.

One other two factors from a win will nearly guarantee them of a spot within the place-offs however for that, RCB might want to put it throughout Punjab Kings who’re coming off a morale-boosting win towards Kolkata Knight Riders.

With their five-wicket victory over KKR, Punjab Kings too saved alive their prospects of constructing the playoffs, though they’re down at fifth place with 12 factors after 5 wins and 7 reverses.

Up towards an formidable RCB outfit, Punjab Kings could have their process reduce out on the Sharjah Cricket Stadium.

Though he didn’t go on to make an enormous rating, Virat Kohli appeared good throughout his keep within the center in his staff’s victory over Rajasthan Royals, as did the skipper’s younger opening accomplice Devdutt Padikkal.

Each of them performed some cracking photographs earlier than the in-form star all-rounder Glenn Maxwell accomplished the job together with his second straight half-century.

If the scenario calls for, like of their final outing, Maxwell can once more afford to take a look at Srikar Bharat to construct a strong partnership within the center overs.

Punjab Kings, alternatively, will once more depend on their trusted opening duo of skipper KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal to supply them a flying begin.

They have been among the many runs towards KKR, and can look to do an encore towards RCB.

The most important plus for Punjab Kings heading into the RCB sport is their dying bowling that paved the best way for his or her win within the final match.

Mohammed Shami and Arshdeep Singh’s two incisive overs on the dying went a great distance in organising Punjab’s victory towards KKR, and the staff would hope for the same outing from the 2 towards RCB.

Groups (from):

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Navdeep Saini, Glenn Maxwell, Dan Christian, Rajat Patidar, Dushmantha Chameera, Pavan Deshpande, Mohammed Siraj, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Sachin Child, Wanindu Hasaranga, George Garton, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shahbaz Ahmed, Devdutt Padikkal, Kyle Jamieson, Suyash Prabhudessai, KS Bharat, Tim David, Akash Deep, AB de Villiers.

Punjab Kings: KL Rahul (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh, Ishan Porel, Shahrukh Khan, Mohammed Shami, Nathan Ellis, Adil Rashid, Murugan Ashwin, Harpreet Brar, Moises Henriques, Chris Jordan, Aiden Markram, Mandeep Singh, Darsan Nalkande, Prabhsimran Singh, Ravi BIshnoi, Utkarsh Singh, Fabian Allen, Saurabh Kumar, Jalaj Saxena.

Match begins: 3:30 pm IST.

SRH intention to dent KKR’s play-off prospects

Out of the play-offs race, bottom-placed Sunrisers Hyderabad will look to dent Kolkata Knight Riders’ probabilities of making it to the knockout stage once they face off in an IPL sport right here on Sunday.

With 9 defeats from 11 matches, SRH are languishing on the backside, whereas KKR nonetheless have hopes of qualifying for the knockout stage as they’re at fourth place with 10 factors from 12 matches.

SRH have gained only one match out of the 4 that they’ve performed for the reason that resumption of the IPL within the UAE.

Whereas SRH had returned to successful methods after 5 losses on the trot with a convincing victory over Rajasthan Royals, they misplaced their final sport by six wickets at Sharjah, permitting Chennai Tremendous Kings to qualify for the play-offs.

The Sunrisers had dropped their solely IPL-winning (2016) skipper David Warner after axing him from captaincy however that didn’t change the destiny of the staff as Kane Williamson has not been in a position to revive the fortunes of the Orange Military.

For SRH, batting stays their weakest hyperlink, particularly within the absence of Jonny Bairstow.

Whereas English opener Jason Roy sizzled on his debut with a quickfire 60 and Williamson too scored a 51 of their profitable chase of 165 towards RR, each got here a cropper towards CSK of their final sport.

Within the bowling division, Jason Holder has repeatedly given them the breakthroughs, however senior India pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Siddarth Kaul have disillusioned.

Leg-spinner Rashid Khan stays SRH’s largest weapon towards any opposition, however he didn’t have sufficient runs to play with most occasions.

For KKR, the UAE leg of the IPL has been a topsy-turvy affair as they’ve gained three video games, whereas dropping two to this point.

The 2-time former champions have impressed with their efficiency within the second half, and even their two defeats have been slim, the place they misplaced within the final over.

Venkatesh Iyer has been the star performer with the bat within the second leg for KKR, whereas Rahul Tripathi has scored the utmost runs for the staff this season.

The choice to maneuver Nitish Rana up the order has additionally paid dividends however Shubman Gill has not been in a position to capitalise on the begins.

In bowling, Varun Chakravarthy has been their go-to man as he picked up six wickets within the second leg, whereas Sunil Narine too has been among the many wickets.

However they’ve considerations within the tempo division with Andre Russell and Lockie Ferguson lacking video games following accidents, forcing skipper Eoin Morgan to make modifications.

Even the KKR captain must get some runs underneath his belt.

Tim Southee and Shivam Mavi is the brand new tempo bowling pair for KKR and so they might want to step up.

Pacer Prasidh Krishna did effectively to snap 4 wickets within the matches that he had performed, earlier than being dropped for conceding 22 runs within the 19th over, towards CSK.

Groups (from):

Kolkata Knight Riders: Eoin Morgan (captain), Dinesh Karthik, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Karun Nair, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathy, Shubman Gill, Harbhajan Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Pawan Negi, M Prasidh Krishna, Sandeep Warrier, Shivam Dube, Tim Southee, Vaibhav Arora, Varun Chakravarthy, Andre Russel, Ben Chopping, Shakib Al Hasan, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Sheldon Jackson, Tim Seifert

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (captain), David Warner, Manish Pandey, Sherfane Rutherford, Wriddhiman Saha, Shreevats Goswami, Rashid Khan, Vijay Shankar, Mohammad Nabi, Abhishek Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddharth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, Urman Malik, Basil Thampi, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Abdul Samad, J Suchith, Jason Holder, Virat Singh, Priyam Garg, Kedar Jadhav, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Jason Roy.

Match begins at 7:30 PM IST.


Most Popular

English English हिन्दी हिन्दी ਪੰਜਾਬੀ ਪੰਜਾਬੀ