Sunday, 24 October, 2021
HomeSportsT20 World Cup: Nitin Menon lone Indian umpire among 20 selected match...

T20 World Cup: Nitin Menon lone Indian umpire among 20 selected match officials

The Worldwide Cricket Council on Thursday introduced the appointment of 20 match officers for spherical one and Tremendous 12 section of the upcoming males’s T20 World Cup, with Nitin Menon being the lone Indian named among the many umpires.

Seasoned South African umpire Marais Erasmus and England’s Chris Gaffaney would be the two on-field umpires for the high-profile India versus Pakistan sport on October 24 whereas Richard Illingworth would be the TV official. David Boon would be the match referee.

The 16 umpires and 4 match referees finalised for the 45-match match embody three umpires who might be officiating of their sixth males’s T20 World Cups — Aleem Dar, Erasmus and Rod Tucker.

Former India pacer Javagal Srinath is among the 4 match referees named for the match, being performed in Muscat (Oman), Abu Dhabi, Sharjah and Dubai (UAE) from October 17 to November 14.

The match officers for the semi-finals and closing of the match within the UAE and Oman might be named sooner or later.

The ICC mentioned a 20-strong group of match officers meant that for the primary time for the reason that starting of the COVID-19 pandemic, there might be impartial umpires for all matches of the match,

Sri Lanka’s Kumar Dharmasena, who was one of many on-field umpires for the ultimate of the ICC Males’s Cricket World Cup 2019, might be within the center for the primary match of the match, when Oman tackle Papua New Guinea, alongside New Zealander Chris Gaffaney.

One other Sri Lankan, the vastly skilled Ranjan Madugalle, would be the match referee, with Richard Kettleborough the TV umpire and Ahsan Raza the fourth official.

Dar and Erasmus have been chosen for the Tremendous 12 conflict between England and the West Indies, a rematch of the final ICC Males’s T20 World Cup closing again in 2016, with Australian nice David Boon the match referee for that encounter and Chris Brown, showing in his first ICC Males’s T20 World Cup, on TV responsibility.

Adrian Griffith, ICC Senior Supervisor Umpires and Referees, mentioned: “We’re delighted to have the ability to name on a few of the world’s high officers for the ICC Males’s T20 World Cup with a gaggle of 16 umpires and 4 match referees.

“Our purpose is all the time to nominate the very best officers, and now we have additionally been capable of appoint impartial umpires and referees in all matches. We want all of them the perfect, and we’re assured they may guarantee the sleek conduct of matches.”

Match Referees: David Boon, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle, Javagal Srinath.

Umpires: Chris Brown, Aleem Dar, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Adrian Holdstock, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nitin Menon, Ahsan Raza, Paul Reiffel, Langton Rusere, Rod Tucker, Joel Wilson, Paul Wilson.

Most Popular

English English हिन्दी हिन्दी ਪੰਜਾਬੀ ਪੰਜਾਬੀ