Monday, 18 January, 2021
Home India Uttar Pradesh: Bypoll to be held in seven Assembly seats on Nov...

Uttar Pradesh: Bypoll to be held in seven Assembly seats on Nov 3

Written by Maulshree Seth
| Lucknow |

September 30, 2020 9:39:47 am

The counting of votes will happen on November 10.

The Election Fee on Tuesday introduced that byelections to the seven Meeting constituencies in Uttar Pradesh will likely be held on November 3.

The seven seats are Naugawan Sadat in Amroha district, Bulandshahr Sadar in Bulandshahr district, Tundla in Firozabad district, Bangermau in Unnao district, Ghatampur in Unnao district, Deoria and Malhani in Jaunpur district.

5 of them fell vacant with the dying of incumbent MLAs, together with two ministers within the BJP authorities — Kamlarani Varun from Ghatampur and Chetan Chauhan from Naugawan Sadat — who died of Covid-19.

Tundla Meeting seat fell vacant after the native MLA, SP Singh Baghel, gained the Lok Sabha election final 12 months. Bangarmau, however, fell vacant after BJP MLA Kuldeep Singh Sengar was convicted in a rape case, resulting in his disqualification.

The Meeting bypoll will likely be a litmus check for the ruling BJP because it had gained six of the seven seats. Solely Malhani was held by the Samajwadi Celebration.

Contemplating the importance of the bypoll which might be being held practically one-and-a-half years earlier than the following Meeting elections in 2022, the BJP has already deputed ministers answerable for every of the seven constituencies.

Sources stated that Sengar’s spouse is among the many contenders for the get together ticket from Bangarmau. In Deoria, which fell vacant after the dying of MLA Janmaijai Singh, the BJP could discipline his son.

In Malhani, the place the BJP candidate, Satish Kumar Singh, got here a distant fourth, shedding to veteran Samajwadi Celebration chief Parasnath Yadav, the competition is more likely to grow to be attention-grabbing with BJP ally, Nishad Celebration, eager to throw its hat within the ballot ring.

The seat, nonetheless, has been a stronghold of the Samajwadi Celebration. Yadav had gained from there in 2012 and 2017 Meeting polls.

Samajwadi Celebration state unit chief Naresh Uttam Patel held a evaluate assembly for the bypolls by video conferencing on Tuesday. In response to sources, Patel took inventory of the scenario of the get together in Ghatampur and requested native get together staff to step up the marketing campaign there.

In the meantime, BSP chief Mayawati introduced that her get together will contest the Meeting bypolls in UP, in addition to in Madhya Pradesh — the BSP typically doesn’t contest bypolls.

She additionally introduced that BSP will contest the Bohar Meeting elections in alliance with the RLSP. She, nonetheless, stated that she wouldn’t be campaigning, particularly in UP and Madhya Pradesh, as a result of ongoing Covid pandemic. “In these byelections, contemplating the Covid pandemic and restrictions, it will not be attainable to marketing campaign in all of the locations. BSP neither not contest bypolls nor do I marketing campaign through the bypolls,” she stated in a press release issued by the get together.

Notably, Azad Samaj Celebration of Bhim Military chief Chandrashekhar Azad has introduced that it’ll make its electoral debut on this Meeting bypoll. It has already named Haji Yamin as its candidate from Bulandshahr Sadar seat.

The Congress has additionally named two candidates for Bangarmau and Suar – the EC is but to inform the bypoll date for Suar Meeting seat. Whereas the get together has fielded Arti Vajpayee, a relative of former Delhi chief minister Sheila Dixit, in Bangarmau, the get together has named Haider Ali Khan, son of Nawab Kazim Ali and grandson of Begum Noor Bano, from Suar.

The counting of votes will happen on November 10.

📣 The Press Reporter is also on Facebook. Follow us on Facebook and stay updated with the latest headlines.

For all the latest News, download Press Reporter App from Playstore.

Most Popular

Ayushmann Khurrana on his next with Abhishek Kapoor: It is a beautiful, progressive love story

By: Leisure Desk | New Delhi | Revealed: July 29, 2020 8:43:23 am Ayushmann Khurrana and Abhishek Kapoor movie will launch subsequent 12...

Poll Body Seeks Detailed Report On Kamal Nath's "Item" Remark

Kamal Nath referred to lady minister as an "merchandise", sparking an argument. (File)New Delhi: The Election Fee of India (ECI) has sought an in...

Who is Dhanashree Verma?

By: Leisure Desk | New Delhi | Revealed: August 8, 2020 6:42:23 pm Dhanashree Verma is a YouTuber and dancer by career. (Picture:...
English English हिन्दी हिन्दी ਪੰਜਾਬੀ ਪੰਜਾਬੀ