Tuesday, 18 May, 2021
Home India Wayanad to coastal areas, Cong can’t stop Pinarayi wave

Wayanad to coastal areas, Cong can’t stop Pinarayi wave

BUCKING its custom of voting out the ruling occasion each 5 years, Kerala selected to stick with the Left Democratic Entrance, rendering the Congress-led UDF an embarrassing defeat within the state.

The coalition, which bagged 19 out of 20 seats within the Lok Sabha elections of 2019, ended with 41 seats within the 140-strong Meeting. The UDF present was primarily confined to central Kerala districts of Ernakulam and Kottayam, and ally IUML’s stronghold of Malappuram.

In reality, the Congress, the UDF’s main occasion, fared the worst. Of the 93 seats it contested, fielding new and younger faces in half of them, it might win solely 21. In Rahul Gandhi’s Wayanad Lok Sabha seat too, the place he extensively campaigned, the UDF misplaced in three of the seven Meeting segments.

Congress state president Mullappally Ramachandran referred to as the defeat surprising. “There may be nothing within the political scenario in Kerala that justifies this verdict.”

Within the southern districts of Thiruvananthapuram and Kollam, the Congress received solely three out of 25 seats. Among the many greatest shocks for the occasion was the defeat of V S Sivakumar from Thiruvananthapuram to minor LDF ally Janathipathya Kerala Congress’s Antony Raju. Congress younger face and two-term legislator Ok S Sabarinathan misplaced to CPM native chief G Stephen, who had confronted protests from inside the occasion.

In Opposition chief Ramesh Chennithala’s Alappuzha district, the Congress win was restricted to his seat.

The Congress had anticipated a wave in its favour in coastal areas in southern districts because the fishermen group was indignant with the LDF authorities over a cope with US companies for deep-sea fishing. The Catholic diocese of Alappuzha and Kollam had overtly come out in opposition to the deal in the course of the elections, main the Congress to hope for positive aspects within the 40-odd coastal constituencies in Kerala. Nonetheless, that didn’t occur.

In North Kerala districts additionally, the Congress couldn’t enhance its tally. In Kozhikode district, the occasion couldn’t win in a single seat.

The IUML then again received 17 of the 27 seats it contested, retaining its maintain on its bastion of Malappuram district. Final time, it had contested 23 seats and received 18.

The breakaway Kerala Congress led by P J Joseph received solely two of the 10 seats it had contested.

Among the many UDF leaders who misplaced have been Ok M Shaji (IUML), V T Balram (Congress), Anil Akkara (Congress) and Ok S Sabarinathan (Congress).

The defeat is a second blow for the Congress after the native physique elections in December, that the LDF had swept, and lots of occasion leaders admitted it was a do-or-die battle. After the December loss, the Congress had introduced in former chief minister Oommen Chandy to the centrestage, making him the chairman of the election committee.

It had additionally this time chosen names based mostly on “winnability”, avoiding its normal pitfall of factional leaders pushing personal leaders.

The occasion additionally hoped to have made an influence with the anomalies in electoral rolls alleged by Chennithala within the run-up to voting. The ruling CPM had maintained silence on the matter.

Most Popular

Ayushmann Khurrana on his next with Abhishek Kapoor: It is a beautiful, progressive love story

By: Leisure Desk | New Delhi | Revealed: July 29, 2020 8:43:23 am Ayushmann Khurrana and Abhishek Kapoor movie will launch subsequent 12...

Poll Body Seeks Detailed Report On Kamal Nath's "Item" Remark

Kamal Nath referred to lady minister as an "merchandise", sparking an argument. (File)New Delhi: The Election Fee of India (ECI) has sought an in...

Who is Dhanashree Verma?

By: Leisure Desk | New Delhi | Revealed: August 8, 2020 6:42:23 pm Dhanashree Verma is a YouTuber and dancer by career. (Picture:...
English English हिन्दी हिन्दी ਪੰਜਾਬੀ ਪੰਜਾਬੀ